Stay Informed

Optional Member Code

District 13

Every 10 years after the Federal Census, which is required by the United States Constitution, the Oklahoma Legislature must re-draw the boundary lines for each district in the State Senate and State House of Representatives.  There are 48 districts in the State Senate and 101 districts in the State House.  Senators are elected to four-year terms and Representatives are elected to two-year terms.

After the 2000 Census, State Senate districts were made up of just under 72,000 residents.  However, Oklahoma's population grew over the last 10 years and so the new district lines had to be drawn to cover approximately 78,000 residents in each district.

When Susan Paddack was first elected to State Senate District 13 in 2004, the district was made up of portions of Coal and Garvin Counties and all of Hughes and Pontotoc Counties [see map below].

Senate District 13 Map - 2002-2012

With growth in the population (but not in all areas of the state evenly), new lines had to be drawn to make each district represent as close to 78,000 residents as possible.  On Friday, May 13, 2011 the Oklahoma Senate voted  38 to 6 to approve the new district maps.  The newly drawn districts will go into effect November 2012. 

The new District 13 is made up of all of Pontotoc County, most of Garvin County, and portions of Hughes, Pottawatomie and Seminole Counties [see Map below].

Senate District 13 Map - 2012-2022

Connect Online