Stay Informed

Optional Member Code

Paddack retains Senate 13 seat


By Kim Morava,

Nov. 6, 2012 10:12 p.m.

Voters in Seminole County elected a new county commissioner Tuesday and those in Senate District 13 retained incumbent Susan Paddack by an overwhelming margin.

In the race for District 2 Seminole County commissioner, Democrat Tommy Monks won that race with 1,845 votes, or 67.6 percent. Independent candidate Quinton Doyle Davidson tallied 885 votes, or 32.4 percent.

In the race for Senate District 13, Seminole County voters were among those in several counties to choose between Paddack, a Democrat, and Republican Fred E. Smith.

Seminole County voters favored Paddock, who also won that race from all votes cast in the counties within her district, including some precincts in Pottawatomie County.

Totals for that race were 19,533 votes, or 76 percent for Paddack, while Smith had 6,182 votes, or 24 percent.

In the Presidential race, Seminole County voters also favored Mitt Romney with 65.1 percent of the vote.

Connect Online